University of Pennsylvania
Positive Neuroscience Positive Neuroscience
home research awards Resources about us contact us

The Positive Neuroscience Project

The Positive Neuroscience Project was established in 2008 by Professor Martin E.P. Seligman, Director of the Penn Positive Psychology Center, with a generous grant from the John Templeton Foundation.

In 2009, the project announced the Templeton Positive Neuroscience Awards competition to bring the tools of neuroscience to bear on advances in Positive Psychology. The project will grant $2.9 million in award funding to 15 new research projects at the intersection of Neuroscience and Positive Psychology.

The University of Pennsylvania Positive Psychology Center

The Positive Psychology Center promotes research, training, education... more »


The John Templeton Foundation


Principal Investigator

Martin E. P. Seligman
University of Pennsylvania


Steering Committee

Turhan Canli
Stony Brook University

Joshua Greene
Harvard University

Steven Maier
University of Colorado at Boulder

Barnaby Marsh
John Templeton Foundation


Helen S. Mayberg
Emory University

Adrian Raine
University of Pennsylvania

Julian Thayer
The Ohio State University

Program Officer

Amy Walker


Distinguished Senior Advisors

Roy F. Baumeister
Florida State University

Maxwell R. Bennett
The University of Sydney

Ned Block
New York University

John T. Cacioppo
The University of Chicago

Avshalom Caspi
Duke University

Joseph T. Coyle
Harvard University

Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi
Claremont Graduate University

Antonio Damasio
University of Southern California

John Deigh
The University of Texas at Austin

K. Anders Ericsson
Florida State University

Michael Gazzaniga
University of California, Santa Barbara

Susan A. Gelman
University of Michigan, Ann Arbor

Alison Gopnik
University of California, Berkeley

Susan Greenfield
Oxford University

Peter Michael Stephan Hacker
St. John’s College, Oxford

James A. Hampton
City University, London

Lawrence A. Hirschfeld
The New School


Rex Jung
University of New Mexico

Frank C. Keil
Yale University

Brian Knutson
Stanford University

Stephen M. Kosslyn
Harvard University

Joseph E. LeDoux
New York University

Bruce S. McEwen
The Rockefeller University

William C. Mobley
Stanford University

Robert Plomin
King’s College London

Stephen G. Post
Stony Brook University

Steven R. Quartz
California Institute of Technology

Steven Rose
The Open University

Daniel L. Schacter
Harvard University

John R. Searle
University of California, Berkeley

Richard A. Shweder
The University of Chicago

Larry R. Squire
University of California, San Diego

Michael Tomasello
Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology

Robert A. Wilson
University of Alberta